My biggest challenge: teaching hearing-impaired

VET -teacher for the future

VET -teacher for the future

Teaching teenager who are hearing-impaired

Fonte Google

Fonte Google

My first class, my friend, math teacher, tell me : Do you know that you have a student with a disability in your class this year?.
– What kind?
– She is deaf.
I was a bit “lost”. There are five skills in language learning: reading, writing, sees, speaking and listening. I was worried how I was going to work with the last two… I was nervous of what to do.
I had never taught a deaf student before….
When I arrived in teacher room, her mother was waiting there. She told me about her daughter and something what she needs in class …. “this chat with her mother….it was my first class about teaching deaf student”.

What you must know about her, she said:

1- Put her at the front of the room so she has a clear view of you and can watch you as you are teaching.
2- She needs see you while you are talking. For her is very difficult when teachers write on the board and speak at the same time.
3- She become a little impatient if you asked for clarification or explication during the class.
4. She doesn’t know very well  Libras – (Brazilian sign language)

Fonte: Google

Fonte: Google

What she loves doing in her free time:

1-She loves her cellphone and PC
2- Facebook
3 She is not a shy girl

Adapted learning and teaching and my life

I have learned  some  actions … but it was ( is) very difficult

1- I prepared more visual aids – I prepared more PowerPoints.
2.-I stopped moving around the classroom. ( I used to circulate around the classroom during a lesson, talking as I like…. Sometimes, I even taught for a few minutes from the back of the room). Now my class is helping me…
3-I paid more attention in my comunication. Body language is very important.
4-I asked her to help me,  “a collaborative approach”….

Design activies… flexible and creative

1- I am doing design activities with cellphone (mobile learning)

My real life

My real life

2- With facebook  ( I have a close group with her)  I put some videos

3- Record some video.

4- Blog

5- WhatsApp

5- Activities with many images to  work  “visual literacy & critical thinkingl”

For exemple:  It is a plane ( transportation)  – She is a plane ( a beautiful girl)

It is a plane“….. It can be a plane as a means of transportion or a beautiful girl ….

The meaning of words depends on the context and culture

Fonte: Google

Fonte: Google

Fonte google

Fonte google

Fonte: Google

Fonte: Google

What I have learned:

Fonte: Google

Fonte: Google

-Be patient;
-They are great lip readers, but facial expressions are important.
-Use lots of pictures. These are visual learners.
-Speak in a normal tone
-Don’t speak while writing on the board. They needs to see my face
-Attract the student’s attention before speaking.
-Indicate when you are changing the subject.

About her?

She  a nice person… everybody in classe loves and help her… she demonstrats self-awareness, discipline, high levels of interest and engagement and self-regulation.

Important: now, in my school,  there are 2 LIBRAS interpreter to help us in class.

It is a hard work… I have learned with her very much…. and at the moment,  I have more ASK  than answer…

help me, please

help me, please

Special needs education – HAMK University – Finland

Ms Irmeli Lignell, Principal lecturer & Mr Simo Uusinoka, Principal lecturer

______________

Eu, Giselda Costa, professora do Instituto Federal do Piauí (IFPI), participo do programa internacional  Vocational Education and Training – VET  com a duração de  5 meses ( fevereiro a junho de 2015) financiado pelo Governo Federal Brasileiro e realizado na HAMK – University of Applied Sciences  na cidade de Hameelinna -Finlândia. A nossa pesquisa tem como base nas experiências de educação profissional do modelo finlandês integrado com setor de inovação e produtividade dos Institutos Federais do Brasil.

My home page: click AQUI

VET -teacher for the future

VET -teacher for the future

__________

Deixe um comentário

